When we are saved, we are saved from the consequences of our sin, we are not saved from our sin nature.
 
We’d like to think we are, but in order to believe that, we’d have to also have a pathological capacity for self-deception.
According to Scripture, it means that, "it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me. For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh,) dwelleth no good thing: for to will is present with me; but how to perform that which is good I find not." (Romans 7:17-18)
Salvation frees us from the consequences of sin, but only death frees us from the propensity for it.
 
"O wretched man that I am! who shall deliver me from the body of this death? I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord. So then with the mind I myself serve the law of God; but with the flesh the law of sin." (Romans 7:24-25)
 
The fact is that salvation was designed for sinners. The Bible makes it clear that all men have sinned, and that sin is part of our earthly existence. We are to avoid sin, but when we fall, we are to turn to Jesus and allow Him to pick us back up.
 
That is the essence of the Gospel. That Jesus loves us so much that, while we were yet enemies of God, He died for us.
