by Pastor Bob Coy, Calvary Chapel Fort Lauderdale

Thomas said to Him, "Lord, we do not know where You are going, and how can we know the way?" John 14:5 (NKJV)

Thomas’ question came at a very trying time. Jesus had just told the disciples that He would be leaving them. He promised that their separation would just be temporary and that they would eventually be reunited (John 14:1–3), but Thomas still had a couple of questions, "Where are you going, and how can we get there?" Jesus answers:

"I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me." (John 14:6 NKJV)

In other words, "Thomas, don’t fret about finding your way to me. I am the way!" Jesus promises to personally direct us through the trials of this life and get us to the place where our hearts long to be . . . with Him in heaven. He doesn’t send us a message or a map so we can find our way through this life. He becomes our way.

Imagine for a moment that my 7-year-old daughter and I are in my office, and she says, "Daddy, I need a drink of water." I could tell her, "Okay, Caitlyn, here’s how you get there. Go out this door and then go down the hallway. When you come to the double doors, take a left, and then proceed down the other hallway until you come to another set of double doors. Go through those and make your way into the main corridor. Then make a sharp right, and you’ll see the water fountain. If that door is locked, turn around and . . ." Ahhh! Can you imagine how frustrating and inadequate this would be? If I really want to make sure that my daughter gets to where she needs to go, I’ll lift her up onto my shoulders and personally take her there. Rather than tellingher the way, I’ll be the way. This is a picture of what Jesus does as He carries us through the trials of this life and becomes our way to Him.

He will feed his flock like a shepherd. He will carry the lambs in his arms, holding them close to his heart. (Isaiah 40:11 NLT)

